The Region

Supporting a unique and diverse tourism region


Image Credit: Hugh Kneebone via

The Canberra Region is a unique and diverse geographic region which stretches from the South-West Slopes, through the Sydney-Canberra Corridor across the Eurobodalla down to the Sapphire Coast and then up to the Snowy Mountains.

Region Map

This map is courtesy of the Canberra Region Joint Organisation (CRJO) which provides a forum for councils, state agencies and other stakeholders to work together at a regional level to identify shared priorities. This will help to deliver important regional projects, delivering better outcomes for communities.

Hilltops Council - _DSC7800 (1).jpg

Destination Southern NSW (DSNSW)

Destination Southern NSW (DSNSW) is one of six Destination Networks formed as a result of the review by Destination NSW (DNSW) into the effectiveness and structure of regional tourism industry organisations. DN’s are ‘administration zones’ responsible for delivering on the NSW Government visitor economy objectives.

Andrew Warren - Crookwell Autumn.jpg

The DSNSW zone encompasses 8 local government areas being; Bega Valley, Eurobodalla, Snowy Monaro, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Yass Valley, Goulburn Mulwaree, Upper Lachlan and Hilltops.

The role of DSNSW is to coordinate tourism related strategies and projects that will promote and achieve growth and prominence of the visitor economy across the DSNSW Region. These will be in line with the objectives, strategies and commitments of the NSW Government and in particular DNSW. This will be achieved in partnership and with support of other State and Australian Government agencies; industry and business associations including the Canberra Region Tourism Leaders Forum.